Notification Spam in Google+… and How to get rid of it
Notification is good but…
When a person shares a post specifically with you or with a circle including you, he can notify you about this post. This Google+ feature is a good thing in nature since you might be interested in what they want to share with you.
The evil side of notifications…
However, some people use it in the wrong way and delibrately (or out of ignorance) spam your notification area with their trivial posts. That’s when you should get rid of them if you don’t want important notifications get buried in the bulk of trivial spammy notifications.
Block or ignore them…
Blocking them may seem too harsh because they won’t be able to see your posts anymore. Instead, you can ignore them, which will limit what they can share with you.
When you ignore a person, they’ll be removed from the list of ‘People who have added you’ and from all your circles, their mentions of you won’t appear in your stream and you won’t receive a notification for them.
How to ignore spammy notifiers…
Suppose someone spams your notification area. You can ignore him like this:
♣ Circles > People who’ve added you (https://plus.google.com/circles/addedyou)
♣ Search for spammer’s name in “Type a name” input box.
♣ Select them (it doesn’t matter if they’re in your circles or you’re in their circles, etc)
♣ Click “Ignore”.